The official Cork Bowl game has been around since November 1991 at Corklestick Park. Cork Bowl has seen numerous changes and improvements over the years and has become one of the hottest tickets in the area. The advancements began in 1992 when the first videotape of the game was made. Although the entire game was not filmed, the groundwork had been set for something that would revolutionize the game. That first videotape included the "founding fathers" of Cork Bowl. Some include: Patrick Cork, Chris Cork, Brooks Wilson, Brian Garrard, Nick Stephens, Reggie Truitt, Willy Truitt, and Brandon Boyd. Since then, Cork Bowl has grown into a huge production. Every year in mid-to- late November, the rosters are named and the preparation begins. Since 1995, a pregame show has preceeded each game detailing matchups as well as other interesting information. Also starting in 1995 was the emergence of play-by-play commentary. Luckily for Cork Bowl, we had the good fortune to have Eric Dean do the first announcing of a game. Dean will always have his own place in Cork Bowl history and he will be the feature of the Cork Bowl Hall of Fame media section. Commentators since then have been: Kevin Ryan, Tony Cork, Jay Jared, David Rueth, Josh Butcher, Steve Wittich. We have also had people willing to film the games for us. These have included: Dale Mendenhall, Justin Massey, Josh Massey, and Kaleb Culver. This offseason, the Cork Bowl Executive Offices are trying to decide whether or not to hold the first Hall of Fame induction balloting. If it were to be held, the following players would be up for induction: Brooks Wilson, Brandon Boyd, Chris Cork, Patrick Cork, Kirby Newell, Reggie Truitt, Willy Truitt, and Eric Dean. The official requirements for entrance into the Hall have not been finalized, however, early reports are focusing on the first members as well as those who have played for at least four years with elite results.


Since the first official game, nearly all of the rules have stayed intact. Teams are made up of five members each. The field is 37 yards in length and 34 yards wide (with 7 1/2 yard endzones). The game is divided into four quarters with each being 25 minutes in length. The clock runs continuously throughout the game except at the end of the 2nd and 4th quarters. In each of these quarters, the clock is stopped at the 1 minute mark for the "one minute warning". Following this stoppage, the clock will be stopped for each dead ball (incomplete pass, receiver going out of bounds, touchdowns, etc.) Also, each team is awarded 3 timeouts each half. There are no kickoffs, so to begin a half or following a score, the team starts at their own 3 yard line. They have four downs to get a first down (approximately 20 yards), and another four downs to score a touchdown following a first down. There are no running plays in Cork Bowl. Each play is a pass and the ball must be snapped to the quarterback by a center who is eligible to catch passes. The only exception to the no-run rule is if the quarterback is rushed by the defensive team. In this case, the quarterback has the opportunity to run with the ball. The defense is allowed to blitz one player immediately following the snap, however, if a defender is going to rush the passer he must start his rush from at least 3 yards away from the line of scrimmage. (Beginning with Cork Bowl 13, the league instituted a "no-rush" rule. No blitzing of the quarterback has been allowed since, although the rule is open for re-evaluation in the future.) The receiving rules are the same as the professional level. For a pass to be complete, the receiver must have two feet in bounds, and he is not considered down on a play unless he is touched by a defender. The official football is a junior-sized football, smaller than a full sized ball and larger than a mini-football.

Back to Main Page